February 2017: Aaron Lee Tasjan on Elizabeth Cook’s “Exodus of Venus”

January 23, 2017

East Nashville’s Aaron Lee Tasjan takes over this month, selecting fellow Nashvillian Elizabeth Cook’s deep and resolute 2016 release, Exodus of Venus.

“We’re going from Little Feat to REM, then put Appalachian harmonies on it. It’s all funky grooves with dark guitars, burning guitars. People were tweeting me, ‘Are you keeping it country?’ And the truth is: No, I’m keeping it real. Not to a genre, but to what these songs are.” – Elizabeth Cook

Curator: Aaron Lee Tasjan
Record: Elizabeth Cook – Exodus of Venus

Side A

  1. Exodus of Venus
  2. Dyin’
  3. Evacuation
  4. Dharma Gate
  5. Slow Pain

Side B

  1. Straightjacket Love
  2. Broke Down in London on the M25
  3. Methadone Blues
  4. Cutting Diamonds
  5. Orange Blossom Trail
  6. Tabitha Tuder’s Mama

More on our February Curator and Record

January 23, 2017

aaron lee tasjan   elizabeth cook   exodus of venus   nashville   new west records   silver tears   thirty tigers  

Related Posts