Justin Peter Kinkel-Schuster – Constant Stranger


The debut solo release from Water Liars frontman, Justin Peter Kinkel-Shuster, released on 9/30 on Big Legal Mess.

Format: Vinyl

1 in stock

Product Description

The 11 songs on Constant Stranger feel like snapshots documented, processed, and archived, filled with stories and images of how the small and often overlooked everyday moments affect the larger ones. There’s a weary yet warm, resigned yet hopeful, realist yet romantic nature to Kinkel-Schuster’s writing, which here strikes as an attempt at reconciling – or reckoning – the complicated and changeable nature of memory and all human relationships. With evocative imagery of the natural world, Constant Stranger seamlessly blends these deeply personal ruminations on family, lovers, a musician’s transient life, and the frequently confounding nature of existence – and creates a universally felt home for memory, gratitude, acceptance, and regret.

Written throughout the past fall and winter, Kinkel-Schuster recorded Constant Stranger in Water Valley, MS’s Dial Back Sound and played every instrument on it save for one bass part. The album was mixed at the Sam Phillips Recording Service in Memphis, TN. A full track listing and cover artwork are below.

  1. Whose Will Be Done
  2. Headed South
  3. False Dawn
  4. Laid Low
  5. Milky Cradle
  6. Moccasin Bones
  7. Half Broke
  8. Brake Dust
  9. Painting Houses
  10. Shorthand Mythology
  11. The Dirt, The Bells & I


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Justin Peter Kinkel-Schuster – Constant Stranger”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *